All About Petrol Tax in Karnataka

What is the Petrol Tax Levied in Karnataka?


The Union Government of India as well the State Government Karnataka levy taxes on petrol. Now, following the Centre’s recent decision to reduce excise duty on petrol, the Karnataka State Government slashed VAT on petrol from 35% to 25.9%.

Take a look at this table to know about the tax components  and other parameters involved in the tax and subsequent price of petrol.


Effective as of 27th Jan (₹ per litre)

Price charged to dealers

₹48.23 per litre

Excise duty (Levied by the Central Government)

₹27.90 per litre

Average dealer commission

₹3.5 per litre

VAT (Levied by the State Government)

₹20.62 per litre {25.9% of (fuel price charged to dealers + excise duty + avg. dealer commission)}

Retail selling price at Karnataka

₹100.25 per litre

(Note: The above table serves only as an example to explain the petrol tax breakup, with data taken from reliable and authorised sources. The actual prices, however, may vary as fuel price, dealer’s commission, cess and other such aspects change periodically. Check the latest petrol prices in Karnataka)

Who Levies Petrol Tax in Karnataka?

What Are the Factors Affecting Petrol Tax in Karnataka?

Is the Petrol Tax Same in All Places in Karnataka?

Frequently Asked Questions