Types of Driving Licence in India

Different Types of Driving licence in India

Driving Licence Categories and Class of Vehicles in India

Here’s a basic overview of the driving licence categories and the class of vehicles in India.

Licence Class

Vehicle Type

MC 50cc

Vehicles that have an engine capacity of 50cc or less than that.


Vehicles like jeep and motor cars fall under the Light Motor Vehicle Category but these are of non-transport class.


Vehicles without gears fall under this category like scooters and mopeds.


Vehicles like motorcycles with gears whose engine capacity is of 50CC or more.


Vehicles like motorcycles both with and without gear fall under this category.


Vehicles like trailers, larger trucks, and other similar vehicles used for transport of goods fall under the category of HGMV.


Vehicles that runs for commercial purpose and has an All India Permit to carry passengers falls under the HPMV category.

Drawbacks of not owning a valid Driver's Licence